WYLD CARD POLICY

Updated and approved by the Governing Board on May 13, 2024 Approved by the membership at the annual business meeting on June 14, 2024

Libraries within the WYLD System are required to participate in statewide borrowing and lending to patrons holding WYLD library cards. The purpose of this policy is to ensure uniform borrowing standards that will enable Wyoming patrons to use the facilities of any WYLD member library.

It is assumed that a patron may have multiple library cards to match multiple affiliations, e.g., a public library card from their home county, a college library card if taking college classes, a school library card, a special library card.

Public WYLD Libraries should only issue permanent cards to county residents. Libraries seeking to issue permanent cards to non-Wyoming residents should contact the State Librarian for guidance.

WYLD Patron Registration Policy

- 1. WYLD libraries will use the minimum amount of patron information needed to conduct business. Personally Identifiable Information (PII) is defined as any representation of information that permits the identity of an individual to whom the information applies to be reasonably inferred by either direct or indirect means.
- 2. The following information is allowed in patron records:
 - a. Name
 - b. Guardian's name
 - c. Address
 - d. Telephone number
 - e. E-mail address
- 3. The following information is prohibited in patron records:
 - a. Social Security numbers
 - b. Driver's license or State ID numbers
 - c. Military ID numbers
 - d. Bank account and credit card numbers
- 4. If a WYLD library chooses to add the full birth date or a CAMPUS/STUDENT ID to the record, that institution takes financial and notification responsibility for any security breach or misuse of patron data from the Integrated Library System. See <u>WYLD Governance Contract</u>, section 6.F

Transactions with another WYLD library

- 1. Wyoming patrons are allowed to borrow from any WYLD library, regardless of residence, if they meet the following criteria:
 - a. Have a patron record in WYLD, and a Wyoming library card in good standing.
 - b. The lending library may accept a photo ID in lieu of a library card if the photo ID contains information matching the patron record.
- 2. The Wyoming State Librarian is the official custodian of WYLD patron records, with the patron's home library recognized as having the primary responsibility and right to manage the record in accordance with their local policy.

- 3. When taking ownership (overlaying) of another library's patron record, both the patron and the library profile information should be updated to reflect the new library's policies.
- 4. Public WYLD libraries are encouraged to support each other by not issuing new cards and by refusing to check out items to patrons who are not in good standing with other libraries. As part of the service provided to enrolled students, academic and school libraries issue cards to students in good standing and therefore are exempt from this requirement.
- 5. WYLD libraries collect fines or fees from non-resident patrons using the following guidelines:
 - a. Libraries may collect fines from a non-resident patron if the amount is \$20.00 or less. They will not be responsible for forwarding the money to the patron's home library.
 - b. If a non-resident patron has fines or fees over \$20.00 the library may, at its discretion, accept payment and forward it to the library where the fines are owed. If payment is accepted for lost or damaged materials, the titles and barcodes of any items being paid for must be enclosed with payment. It is recommended that this be done especially when the patron is willing to make out a check payable to the library where the fines are owed which can then be directly mailed.
 - c. If a non-resident patron has fines or fees over \$20.00 and pays by credit card, the library should, to the best of its ability, forward the funds to the library where the funds are owed.
 - d. Patrons owing large fines or fees to academic libraries should contact the library directly to pay the charges so that the amount can be correctly removed from other academic accounts.
- 6. Libraries agree to lend at least two books to a patron from any other WYLD library. Actual lending limits on numbers and types of materials will vary from library to library.
- 7. Libraries must inform patrons of this WYLD Card Policy. They should be informed that each library has its own policies. The patron should also be informed that they are responsible for returning materials to a WYLD library and that overdue notices and fines will be generated from the lending library.
- 8. Returned materials will be discharged and returned as soon as possible to the lending library at no cost to the patron, ensuring a true state-wide borrowing policy.
- 9. The WYLD office will keep statistics on statewide borrowing to be used in reevaluating these policies.
- 10. Public Libraries will attempt to recover overdue materials in accordance with their own policies and Wyoming Statute 18-7-105(c) which states 'Holders of library cards are responsible for all library materials borrowed on such cards. Whenever library materials are lost, destroyed, or taken from the library and not returned the library board may institute proceedings in any court of competent jurisdiction to recover the materials or the value thereof.' Academic, school, and special libraries will follow their own policies for recovering materials.