Join Chris Van Burgh, WSL Database Instruction Librarian on Tuesday, October 17, at 11:15 a.m. MDT for October’s Database of the Month webinar, “Health Resources in GoWYLD.net.”
October is Health Literacy Month. In this webinar we will look at the many resources under Health & Medicine and Nursing & Allied Health. The new interface for Health & Wellness Resource Center will part of this exploration of sources in GoWYLD.net. We will also check out a few places for materials and programming ideas.
Join Chris Van Burgh for a look at Mango Languages. It now has 72 languages, 21 ESL courses, 35 specialty courses and an updated interface. (It’s also time to get ready for Talk Like a Pirate Day on September 19.)
Join Chris Van Burgh, WSL Database Instruction Librarian, on Tuesday, September 12, at 11:15 a.m. MDT for a look at Mango Languages. Mango is an online language learning system that teaches real conversation skills for practical communication using fun and engaging interactive lessons. It now offers 72 languages, 21 ESL courses, 35 specialty courses and an updated interface. Mango is accessible through GoWYLD.net for all Wyoming residents thanks to the University of Wyoming Libraries.
Check out MasterFile Premier for all your basic research needs. Designed specifically for public libraries, this database provides full-text magazines (such as Advertising Age and MacWorld, Parents and Ranger Rick, Yachting and Runner’s World), reference books and primary source documents. It also includes an extensive image collection containing photos, maps and flags.
The celestial event of the century will soon be upon us as libraries prepare for the August 21, 2017, solar eclipse. Use resources in GoWYLD.net to learn more about the eclipse and find activities, images, and video. Also check out our Wyoming and the Solar Eclipse 2017 LibGuide for more.
This year on August 21, a solar eclipse will make its way across Wyoming, for the first time since 1918. Astronomers, eclipse enthusiasts, and travelers from around the world are making their plans to join the many Wyomingites who will dawn their eclipse glasses and gaze at the sky.
The Wyoming State Library can help you prepare. Join our free webinar tomorrow, July 20, at 11:15 a.m. MDT and “Get Ready for the Eclipse!” with GoWYLD.net. Chris Van Burgh, WSL Database Instruction Librarian, will take you on a tour of some great resources where you can learn more about the eclipse and find activities, images, and video.
In this session, WSL Database Instruction Librarian Chris Van Burgh will take you through two great new additions to Learning Express Library. In Job & Career Accelerator, you can search for jobs or internships, try out the Career Match and Explore Occupations tools, and build up your resume. In the Computer Skills Center, brush up on Microsoft PowerPoint or learn Adobe Illustrator, and find out more about your computer operating system. It’s one of the many resources available in GoWYLD.net.
Join Wyoming State Library Database Instruction Librarian Chris Van Burgh at 11:15 a.m. MDT on Tuesday, June 13 to take a tour. Explore occupations, search for jobs or internships, try out Career Match, and build up your resume. In the Computer Skills Center, brush up on Microsoft PowerPoint, learn Adobe Illustrator, find out more about your computer operating system, and more. Learning Express is one of the many GoWYLD.net online resources free to any Wyoming resident.
The 2017 Collaborative Summer Library Program theme is “Building a better world.” In this session, Chris explores resources available to you in GoWYLD using the theme, but translating it in different ways such as architecture, community, leadership, and culture.
Are you struggling with Kafka? Want to know more about Catcher in the Rye? Interested in hearing Robert Bly read his poetry? Come check out ProQuest Learning: Literature. A great source for finding authors, criticism, study guides, multimedia and more. It is designed for K-12 students, but most everyone will find it useful.
Here are some of our downloadable promotional handouts that supplement this webinar.