The Wyoming State Book Awards Votes Are In

Mar 21, 2024

The votes have been tallied and three books in each of the three Wyoming State Book Award categories have been selected by young readers from across Wyoming. Congratulations to all of the books and authors selected by Wyoming youth and huge thanks to all of the young Wyoming readers and adult sponsors who participated!

The winners of the 2023-2024 Wyoming State Book Awards are:


Buckaroo Award Winners (Grades K-3)

  • Winner: Knight Owl by Christopher Denise
  • Runner-Up: Rumple Buttercup by Matthew Gruber
  • 3rd Place: Rescue & Jessica: A Life-Changing Friendship by Jessica Kensky and Patrick Downes

Indian Paintbrush Award Winners (Grades 4-6)

  • Winner: Odder by Katherine Applegate
  • Runner-Up: Stay by Bobbie Pyron
  • 3rd Place: Ali Cross by James Patterson

Soaring Eagle Award Winners (Grades 7-12)

  • Winner: The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  • Runner-Up: You’d be Home Now by Kathleen Glasgow
  • 3rd Place: The Light Between Us by Andrew Fukuda

The nominees for the 2024-2025 Wyoming State Book Awards will be announced in April.

Sponsored by the Wyoming Library Association and the Wyoming State Literacy Association, Wyoming State Book Awards provides the opportunity for Wyoming youth in grades K-12 to select a favorite book and honor its author. For more information, visit

If you have a question about this or any other article, please contact us at

Browse by Category

Browse by Month

Similar Articles You May Like