WLA Elects Two to Board

Aug 14, 2018

At its 2018 conference, the Wyoming Library Association announced that Abby Beaver was elected as its new Vice President/President-Elect. Abby is the Information Services Manager at the Wyoming State Library. As Vice President, she will chair the program planning committee for the 2019 WLA conference and assume the presidency for 2019-2020. “I’m excited to work with librarians to provide quality programming and encourage more participation in our association,” she said in her candidate statement.

Janice Grover-Roosa was elected ALA Councilor. She will serve as WLA’s representative to the American Library Association and also as Intellectual Freedom Advisor. Janice is Director of the Western Wyoming Community College Hay Library. “I will commit myself to helping all of us in the Wyoming Library Community navigate and make use of the many useful tools ALA has prepared on behalf of libraries,” she said in her candidate statement. “My goal is not to ‘promote ALA’ but rather to promote our libraries by recommending various resources and opportunities provided by ALA.” She succeeded Brian Greene, Library Development Manager at the Wyoming State Library.

Thanks go to the other candidates on the ballot who were willing to step forward and offer their time and talents to WLA. Brenda Mahoney-Ayres, Director of the Weston County Library, ran for Vice President. Terri Lesley, Executive Library Director of the Campbell County Public Library System who ran for ALA Councilor. It was truly an excellent slate of candidates this year, and all of them should be commended.

If you have a question about this or any other article, please contact us at statelibrary@wyo.gov

Browse by Category

Browse by Month

Similar Articles You May Like