Category Archives: Database of the Month

Two New Database Webinars in the Archive



We’ve just added two new Database of the Month webinars to our archive page.

U.S. History in Context and Native American Heritage Month
Gale pays tribute to their important contributions, histories, and unique challenges both past and present with Native American content featured directly on the homepage of US History In Context for the entire month of November.
November 2018; 18 minutes

Social Issues: Resources in GoWYLD.net
Let’s take a look at places to go in GoWYLD.net for information on the myriad social issues that are prevalent in our world. We will look at Opposing Viewpoints In Context, Global Issues In Context, CQ Researcher and SIRS Knowledge Source.
October 2018; 21 minutes

Webinar: U.S. History In Context and Native American Heritage Month



An upcoming GoWYLD.net webinar will explore U.S. History in Context and Native American Heritage Month. Join Chris Van Burgh for this free webinar on Thursday, November 8 from 2-3 p.m. MST.

Register to attend.

Gale pays tribute to important contributions, histories, and unique challenges, both past and present, with Native American content featured directly on the homepage of U.S. History In Context for the entire month of November.

Database of the Month: Social Issues



On Thursday, October 25, join the Wyoming State Library’s Chris Van Burgh for “Database of the Month: Social Issues.” This free webinar will begin at 11:15 a.m. MDT.

In this online session, she’ll take a look at places to go in GoWYLD.net for information on the myriad social issues that are prevalent in our world. See resources in Opposing Viewpoints In Context, Global Issues In Context, CQ Researcher, and SIRS Knowledge Source.

Register for this free webinar to attend. We’ll also add it to our webinars index page afterward.

Questions about using the GoWYLD databases? Contact Chris at chris.vanburgh@wyo.gov or (307) 777-3642.

Archived Webinar: Bookflix



Bookflix for public libraries, school and home! 
September 2018; 12 minutes

Bookflix is a literacy resource for grades PreK-3 that pairs classic fictional video storybooks with related eBooks. Animation, audio and interactive games are designed to reinforce core reading skills. Bookflix has a brand new look, better searching , new book pairs, and more! (They have eliminated the need for Flash) Join Chris Van Burgh for a look at this terrific resource in GoWYLD.net

Online Training ‘At Your Leisure’



For August, you can explore the many wonders of Britannica Library, our featured GoWYLD Database of the Month. We’ve recorded this 17-minute video tour that you may watch “At Your Leisure” to learn more about this great resource.

Other At Your Leisure offerings we’re featuring in August:

Coaching People to Be Like You? Here’s Why That’s a Big Mistake (Training Industry). Join us for this complimentary Training Industry webinar where we will take a closer look at four different behavior styles: doer, talker, controller and supporter.We will provide tips for recognizing your own behavior style and adapting to and coaching those with different styles.

For Director’s Ears Only: 10 Secret Tips To Support Youth Services (University of Wisconsin-Madison). Great youth services happen in libraries where staff and community recognize the importance of supporting youth and their literacy, learning and discovery needs. Youth library staffers often have strong thoughts about what would help them be more effective advocates for youth and youth library services but may not be able to articulate them or need support to make them happen.

Budget-Neutral Digital Projects For Small Institutions (University of Wisconsin-Madison). Small libraries with one or two staff members are inspired by the large-scale digital projects of bigger flagship institutions. How can one translate this inspiration to action with small means and few staff?

Online Training ‘At Your Leisure’



Novelist Plus is our featured GoWYLD database of the month, and we’ve recorded a 14-minute video to watch “At Your Leisure.” Use Novelist Plus to find your summer read! (Or any time of the year!)

Other At Your Leisure offerings we’re featuring in July:

In Depth with the New AASL Standards, Part VI: Engage (Wyoming State Library)
Join Jennisen Lucas, Wyoming School Librarian and AASL Standards Implementation Chair as she takes us on a final tour of the new AASL standards. This month will be all about the Shared Foundation “Engage.”

Why Good Leaders Make You Feel Safe (TEDTalk)
What makes a great leader? Management theorist Simon Sinek suggests, it’s someone who makes their employees feel secure, who draws staffers into a circle of trust. But creating trust and safety — especially in an uneven economy — means taking on big responsibility.

What it Takes to be a Great Leader (TEDTalk)
The world is full of leadership programs, but the best way to learn how to lead might be right under your nose. In this clear, candid talk, Roselinde Torres describes 25 years observing truly great leaders at work, and shares the three simple but crucial questions would-be company chiefs need to ask to thrive in the future.

Online Training At Your Leisure



Learning Express Library’s Job & Career Accelerator is our featured GoWYLD database of the month, and we’ve recorded a 16-minute video to watch at your leisure. With Job & Career Accelerator, you can explore occupations, find a career match, create a resume, and many more tools to find a job or college.

Other At Your Leisure offerings we’re featuring in June:

In Depth with the New AASL Standards, Part V: Explore (Wyoming State Library) Jennisen Lucas, Wyoming school librarian and AASL Standards Implementation Chair, takes us on an in depth tour of the new AASL standards. This archived webinar is on the Shared Foundation, “Explore.”

The Opioid Epidemic and Libraries—Challenges, Resources, and More (American Libraries) The opioid epidemic has sunk its teeth into communities all over the United States, and many libraries are finding themselves caught right in the middle. This crisis creates a variety of issues for librarians—we find ourselves faced with security questions, questions about treatment, questions about community resources, and even medical questions. It can be tough to know how to address these issues and where to begin.

12 Keys to Successful Digital Content Promotion (American Libraries) In this free 60-minute webinar, you will learn the details of promotional campaigns that have worked in two libraries, as well as promotional best practices from a recent nationwide survey of librarians. Our speakers will walk you through 12 keys to digital content promotion success.

Social Media Analytics: What to Measure and Why (Techsoup for Libraries) Don’t know where to start when planning your social media metrics? Join us to learn the best methods to measure your library’s social media outcomes. During this event, you will learn how to establish measurable goals, identify key performance indicators (KPIs), and understand how to evaluate your social media results.

Online Training At Your Leisure



National Geographic Virtual Library is the Wyoming State Library’s featured Database of the Month for May, and we’ve recorded a 16-minute YouTube video to watch At Your Leisure, any time on your computer, tablet, or smartphone. National Geographic Virtual Library is the perfect resource for the researcher, traveler, and arm chair traveler. Here you will find National Geographic, National Geographic Traveler, and books, maps, images and video.

Take a look at what this database offers on literary landmarks, or travel in and throughout literature. Peruse Novel Destinations: A Travel Guide to Literary Landmarks and learn more about the people and lands from classic novels by Jane Austen, Ernest Hemingway, and more. Or take a Tour of the World’s Greatest Fictional City and experience Anna Quindlen’s Imagined London.

Other At Your Leisure offerings we’re featuring in May:

In Depth with the New AASL Standards, Part IV: Curate  (Wyoming State Library) Join Jennisen Lucas, Wyoming School Librarian and AASL Standards Implementation Chair as she takes us on an in depth tour of the new AASL standards. This month’s installation will be the Shared Foundation “Curate.”

Library Innovation by Design  (Aspen Institute) As the role of the library shifts beyond simply being an access and lending institution to providing a venue and platform for learning, innovation and creativity, libraries need to think in dramatically different ways and develop new approaches to their work in line with their changing role in the community. Design thinking and its human-centered approach offers a set of tools for libraries to adapt to become more flexible, more innovative institutions. Design consultant Michelle Ha Tucker talks about Library Innovation by Design.

Developing Escape Rooms at Libraries (National Network of Libraries of Medicine) This archived session features guest speakers Alison Wessel and Olivia Glotfelty, who discussed the development of escape rooms at libraries in Delaware and Pennsylvania. Both speakers describe their experiences planning and implementing these escape rooms and how they proved beneficial to their audiences and libraries

Database of the Month: Find the Bard in Literature Online



For the April Database of the Month, we celebrate Shakespeare’s birthday with a tour of resources found in ProQuest Literature Online (LION). In addition to articles about Shakespeare, you can read his work and even listen to his plays. This 24-minute video is pre-recorded so you may watch it any time.

We’d also like to point you to these other training videos that you can watch At Your Leisure:

In Depth With the New AASL Standards, Part III (Wyoming State Library)
Join Jennisen Lucas as she discusses “Collaborate,” the third Shared Foundation of the new AASL Standards for school libraries. Facilitated by Paige Bredenkamp.

Public Library Innovations: A Story of Community Engagement (Aspen Institute and International City/County Management Association).
There are opportunities for library and local government leaders to collaborate more closely on community priorities and to engage in active information sharing and communication about community issues. For local government and library leaders interested in designing more effective strategies for aligning library services with community priorities, the Aspen Institute provides an Action Guide for Re-Envisioning Your Public Library. this webinar will present practical strategies for implementing the Action Guide as a tool for strategic planning to transform your public library and community.

Surveys and Questionnaires: A Brief Course for Librarians Session 1 (Montana State Library).
This was a very popular webinar that filled up quickly. Luckily, they recorded it so you can watch it at your leisure. How do you know when a survey is the best way to collect the data you want? In this first of three sessions, we’ll a look at different types of surveys, what types of data you can collect with a survey, and some simple alternative ways to collect valid useful data.

The Power of Vulnerability (TED Talk).
Brené Brown studies human connection — our ability to empathize, belong, love. In a poignant, funny talk, she shares a deep insight from her research, one that sent her on a personal quest to know herself as well as to understand humanity. A talk to share.

Online Training “At Your Leisure”



We know your schedule is busy, so we’re doing something new. The Wyoming State Library’s Database of the Month webinars with Chris Van Burgh will now be pre-recorded so you can view them whenever you have time.

For March, the featured database is the eLibrary Curriculum Edition (Guided Research) interface and the ProQuest Platform for eLibrary. Watch it on YouTube as Chris takes you on a tour.

We’re also featuring other on-demand videos we find. Check them out in the sidebar on our training calendar page.