Equality State Book Festival

Aug 10, 2012

2012 Equality State Book Festival

Holly Wendt & Laurie Lye, Co-Directors

The Equality State Book Festival organizers are pleased to announce this year’s festival date has been set for Sept. 14th-15th in Casper, Wyoming. This celebration marks the 26th anniversary of the annual Casper College / ARTCORE Literary Conference, which has been called “The Equality State Book Festival” every other year since 2006, this being our fourth venture in that spirit.
For the two-day event, more than 15 authors and illustrators will share their talents, giving readings, leading craft talks, emceeing a poetry slam, visiting local schools, and participating on panels. This year’s group includes poets, novelists, memoirists, essayists, illustrators, and publishers.
Among the participants slated are state-wide and regional favorites: Pat Frolander, current Poet Laureate for Wyoming; Zak Pullen, Cat Urbigkit, Kendra Spanjer and Karla Oceanak who will be making school visits; Alyson Hagy and David Romtvedt, faculty from University of Wyoming’s MFA program, who will give readings and lead craft talks; and essayist and poet Linda Hasselstrom. From further regions, we are also joined by Rebecca O’Connor and Renee d’Aoust.
The Wyoming Arts Council will be announcing their annual Creative Writing Fellowship awards which celebrate poetry this year and will be judged by Brian Turner. Our friends at Natrona County Public Library are sponsoring a visit from Luis Carlos Montalvan.
We hope you can join us to appreciate the good company of fellow readers and writers and help celebrate books and the written word Sept. 14-15, 2012 at Casper College and a few other Casper locations, all to be detailed on this website soon.
For more book festival information, please contact Laurie Lye at llye@caspercollege.edu or 307-268-2639.



If you have a question about this or any other article, please contact us at statelibrary@wyo.gov

Browse by Category

Browse by Month

Similar Articles You May Like

People News

Jamie Markus was recently appointed to the EveryLibrary Institute Board of Directors. He also recently participated in...